top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJames Bishop

You sir, are good to go

Well, it wasn’t quite like that but that’s all my very excited brain heard.

What they actually said was its been 3 months since your operation and now we’re happy that your bones have healed. You can now fully relinquish your crutches and can start doing activities.

Activities=BOARD-SPORTS

And man am I in need of this. This is the longest I’ve been without physical activity in my whole life. The second longest time I’ve been without being in the ocean. And just a f*@ki+g long time to be sat doing nothing. I appreciate this sounds pretty spoilt, however all things are relative.

It has however lent some perspective and I am now more thankful than ever for my health and the lifestyle that it allows me to pursue. So after three months of being thoughtful and taking stock of my life I’m finally able to try and pick up where I left off.

Im writing this from Seat 3E of easyJet flight EZY6103. And I’m feeling exactly like that excited boy flying out to his first season. I can’t wait to get back into the mountains and start working again. However on the plus side I think I might have broken some sort of record for being late to work. My old record was 3 hours I’ve just smashed that with 3 months.

However if I thought sitting on the sofa was tough its about to really step up a level. When I was sofa bound no matter how much I wanted to go and bomb that hill, ride that storm or rip park with my friends I COULDN’T. And that was a fact I couldn’t escape from. However now I could do those things but I can’t. I have to try and fight every fibre in my body that says first big side hit you see, hit it at full gas and go big. Unfortunately for me the reality of snowboarding this season is going to be cruising groomers with a leisurely lunch stop and maybe a casual afternoon beer.

Either way it beats playing Mark McMorris infinity air on playstation for endless hours.

I’m going to be back working with friends, back on my snowboard and back living in the mountains. If I make one turn all season that’ll be enough for me.

Well the cue for the airplane loo has finally died down so I’ll probably call it there and wait until the next time I have something remotely interesting to write about.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page